
PROCUREMENT GUIDE – Price Thresholds & Bidding Procedures 
 

Procurement less than $500: The department or agency may proceed with a vendor of its choosing, but 
the Division of Purchases (“Division”) recommends contacting, if available, a certified Minority or 
Women-owned Business Enterprise (MBE/WBE) or a “Local Vendor.”  A “Local Vendor” is a non-
foreign, domestic business enterprise whose principal office, according to the Corporate Database 
maintained by the Secretary of State at http://ucc.state.ri.us/CorpSearch/CorpSearchInput.asp, is located 
within the State of Rhode Island. 

Master Price Agreement (MPA) Requirement: Departments and agencies shall first utilize an applicable 
MPA to the extent one is available.  If there is a certified MBE/WBE on an MPA covering services, the 
department or agency is required to get a quote from the certified firm.  Refer to specific MPA Contract 
User Guide for further information.  Should an MPA not be available, the department or agency should 
utilize the below process.  If an MPA vendor is ultimately utilized, departments and agencies do not need 
to submit this form to the Division.  For more information on available MPAs, please call the Division of 
Purchases and/or visit its website (contact information listed above).    

Three written quotes required: For general procurements between $500 and $5,000 ($10,000 for 
construction services), at least three (3) written quotes shall be obtained through e-mail, fax or the internet.  
At least one of the quotes must be from a certified MBE/WBE, assuming there is an MBE/WBE capable of 
providing the goods or services.  Additionally, at least one (1) of the three (3) required quotes must be from 
a local vendor, again assuming there is a local vendor capable of providing the goods or services.  This 
“local vendor” may be the same vendor used to satisfy the MBE/WBE requirement, but agencies must still 
get a total of three (3) written quotes for any procurement under this delegated small purchase authority. 

Procurements will comply with sub-recipient procurement policies and procedures, and at a minimum, 
conform to Rhode Island State Purchasing Laws pursuant to Title 37 Chapter 2. Sub- recipients are also 
required to abide by Federal law and the standards identified in the Procurement Standards sections of 2 
CFR Part 200; Uniform Administrative Requirements, Cost Principles, and Audit Requirements for 
Federal Awards. Below is extracted information from the State Purchasing Law: 

• For general procurements from $1 to $499 per transaction, a sub-recipient may use a vendor 
of their choice. 

• For general procurements from $500 to $2,500 per transaction, a state agency official may 
obtain three (3) telephone quotes. Each potential vendor must be provided a written copy of 
quote either by regular mail, e-mail, or fax. 

• For general procurements from $2,500 to $5,000 per transaction ($10,000 for construction) at 
least three (3) written quotes should be obtained through normal mail, personal delivery, e-
mail, fax or web quote. Must demonstrate, by memorandum of record, that at least one 
MBE/WBE was considered to the extent practical. 

• For general procurements from $5,000 to $10,000 per transaction an invitation is required to 
Bid Process1 or covered under Master Price Agreement (MPA). 

• $10,000 or Greater - All of the above are required along with pre-approval from RIEMA. 
Submit all documentation from each step in the bidding process to RIEMA for pre-approval. 

 
1 All procurements ≥ $5,000 must be post for bid in the Providence Journal for a minimum of (72) hrs., allowing for 
a minimum of (30) days for potential vendors to respond.  Please notify RIEMA, prior to purchasing, if 
procurements will involve the RI MPA or Single/Sole Source purchasing procedures. 

timothy.nadeau
Highlight



In order to get the most cost-effective pricing, as a general rule, departments and agencies should award 
contracts to the lowest responsive and responsible bidder.  However, there is an exception regarding the 
State’s interest in supporting Minority Business participation.  When awarding to an MBE/WBE that was 
not the low bidder, section 5.12.1.2.3 of the State of Rhode Island Procurement Regulations and section 
25(b) of the Regulations’ Appendix A - General Conditions of Purchase, allow selection of the 
MBE’s/WBE if its price quote is within a competitive range, not to exceed five percent (5%) higher than 
the lowest responsive price offer) for a product or service.   
 
The record shall include an objective statement explaining the basis for the decision.  It is important that 
the person obtaining the quotes set a deadline by which all written quotes must be received or the process 
may not have closure.  This also ensures that the vendors have an equal opportunity to participate.   
 
(R. I. Gen. Laws § 37-2-22 and RIEMA Non-Disaster Sub-Recipient Grant Management 
Handbook - March 2021) 
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